Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Irish Riding

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2010, 03:35 PM
gunner11
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Cool Irish Riding

My wife and I have been saving for a few years to go ride the roads of Ireland. Any Irish lads on the forum that can tell me the best part of the year to go, and special places of interest. I am retiring for my second time this year, and it has always been a dream of mine to go to Ireland and ride the country.
I quite drinking 20 years ago, but may have to have a 1 month waiver when we go over. Can't go there and not sample the brew Give me a shout if you have any pertinent information. Ride safe

Old 11-03-2010, 04:00 PM
07FLHT
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

Just stay away from Belfast! Saw on TV last night some bad stuff going on between an M/C & the IRA!! LOL!

Have a great trip!

Last edited by 07FLHT; 11-03-2010 at 04:02 PM.
Old 11-03-2010, 04:15 PM
'05Train
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 883 Likes on 439 Posts

I spent 2 days riding there in September of '09. We got really lucky with the weather, it was in the 50s and relatively dry. I'd suggest the west coast between Galway and Clifden, the roads are absolutely amazing.

I rented from http://www.motorental.ie/

Attached Thumbnails Irish Riding-img00053-20090926-1035.jpg  
Old 11-03-2010, 04:17 PM
sgdiesel
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Not Irish but in the UK. It rains a lot in the UK, but one thing that cheers us up is there is somewhere else that is even worse :-)

Must be in the summer, and generally prices and availability of accomodation etc are more hectic in August. As you are retired and can go just about anytime then personally I would look at June / early to mid July. That keeps you out of school holiday silly season.