Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Q for Garmin Zumo Users

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2010, 04:43 PM
Shrug
Elite HDF Member
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Q for Garmin Zumo Users

I'm looking to replace my TomTom Rider2 before my Alaska trip next year. I've been reading the Garmin Zumo specs and have a question for those who use or know them well.

The Zumo 665 has XM satellite included. Is this the only difference between it and the 550 which supports GPS, but isn't included. This beckons a second question. What does "included" mean? I have a lifetime Sirius subscription, so unless there's some really impressive navigational enhancement with XM, I fail to see the value for the additional cost.

The 660 appears to have the same features and functions as the 550 and 665, except with no XM capability.

I gathered this information from the Garmin motorcycle navigation web site. Are my assumptions correct or am I off base here? Any insight appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Old 10-12-2010, 06:10 PM
al baehr
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have the 550 and 660, the 660 has a bigger screen and a few added features, The 660 in some areas will show which lane to be in for exiting and also shows the posted speed limits which I think is very cool.

I have the hd xm so need for it with the gps for me.

My opinion they are both great units you cant go wrong either way.

Old 10-12-2010, 06:25 PM
redhwk44
Road Master

While I don't use the XM Sat feature of the 550 I do remember that it is XM capable. Good luck on the trip north I am jealous.

Old 10-12-2010, 06:40 PM
Ed Y
Advanced

Here's a great source of info for Zumo users.

http://www.zumoforums.com/index.php

Old 10-12-2010, 06:58 PM
sifularson
Elite HDF Member
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts