Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Front brake problem?

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2010, 12:03 AM
neteng
Novice
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Front brake problem?

'10 FLHTK. When I bought the bike the front brakes were spongy. Told dealer and around 1900 miles they replaced the pads saying they were wore out. I'm at 4000 miles now and the same feeling is back. As soon as I get home from the road trip I will bring it into the dealer to see what they say. So the question is anyone else out there having front brake issues? I've been riding for 13 years now (mostly Ducati superbikes) and have never gone through pads this fast (possibly twice). I did notice that when I'm stopped and I hold the front brake in, the engine seems to work a little more (ABS?).

What does everyone think?

Old 08-31-2010, 03:49 PM
Fathead2003
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

There have been several posts on spongy front brakes. I cannot speak for the new models but My 03 EG standard had the same problem. My problem was that the four pistons in each caliper would not extend because they were fouled out with brake dust, road debris etc.. There is not a dust cover over the pistons. Once I removed the calipers and freed and cleaned the pistons... life was good again.

Old 08-31-2010, 04:08 PM
nemick
Road Warrior
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by neteng