Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tuning a Harley

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2010, 11:54 PM
PDDGM
Road Master
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Tuning a Harley

I was talking to some friends that ride HD's and they said I didn't need to buy a EFI tuner to get my Ultra to run cooler and better. Just put on the air cleaner I want and take the bike to a HD dealer and they can retune it to run just like the EFI tuner will for less than the tuner will cost? Is this so?
I have been riding my Ultra for 3 years and am still learning a lot about HD's.

Joe

Old 08-10-2010, 01:56 AM
jmbear328
Road Warrior

Originally Posted by PDDGM
I was talking to some friends that ride HD's and they said I didn't need to buy a EFI tuner to get my Ultra to run cooler and better. Just put on the air cleaner I want and take the bike to a HD dealer and they can retune it to run just like the EFI tuner will for less than the tuner will cost? Is this so?
I have been riding my Ultra for 3 years and am still learning a lot about HD's.

Joe
This is a topic where many people are pretty passionate about their choice. BUT,... to answer your question... YES, you can go to the dealer and have them do a simple stage I download and you'll be fine, and save quite a bit of money. I have went both ways on various Harleys that I've owned. I've had one with a Screamin Eagle Race Tuner, one with a Power Commander V and three others with just the dealer stage I dowloads. All of them ran just fine with no problems. Matter of fact,... I just have a dealer installed stage I download on my 10 Ultra Limited and it runs just fine. I think you will be plenty happy with just the dealer download.

Old 08-10-2010, 11:56 PM
PDDGM
Road Master