Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie Here Needs Help With Exhaust Choice

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2010, 07:16 PM
travis.l.rider
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Here Needs Help With Exhaust Choice

I have an 09' SG. I have read so many post of this site about different exhaust it is making my head spin. I have a few questions as I am new to the Harley world. I know when it comes to exhaust everyone has their own opinion but I wanna hear them. Which is better as far as performance, duals or a 2-1? When it comes to 2-1 is there anything that can compete with a D&D Fat Cat as far a look and performance? I know its usually a love/hate thing with the D&D sound. If I was to go with duals should I change the head pipe or just go with slip ons? I have read where some people feel like with duals they lost low end torque, is this true. Any insight into this matter will greatly help. I know there is hundreds of post of this subject and I have read many of them but am still not sure.

Old 07-20-2010, 07:26 PM
hdslam
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

D&D FatCat, can't comment. I am running a Vance&Hines Pro-Pipe full system and could not be happier. Perfect sound and performance w/ mods I have done. Many factors to your questions, ie...are you only looking for top end or bottom end. Pro-Pipe give great bottom end torque and grunt.

You will loose some top end, if you live with that. On my roadglide I am running true duals w/ Bub7's. Again, GREAT sound and performance w/ completed mods. Custom mapping w/ SERT done by Nick Trask at Custom Performance in Phoenix. I won't let anyone else but Nick and his crew to wrench on my bikes for tuning or major work.

Old 07-20-2010, 07:33 PM
RoadWhipper
Advanced