Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question: 07 SG Cams Upgrade & Power Commander

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2010, 01:58 PM
BoBlinky
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question: 07 SG Cams Upgrade & Power Commander

Alright fellas, apologies, relative "noob" here. Here's the story and I'd appreciate your feedback:

Running a '07 SG w/ Stage I (SE intake, SE pipes, stock y-pipe). I bought it used and didn't remember to ask if he'd done the download (cause I'm new to this )

Bought some lightly-used Andrews 37 cams and a SERT. Then went to my local shop (intentionally avoiding the overpriced Eastside Harley (bellevue, WA), Cyclepath, Kirkland WA:

here's what I've been told vis-a-vis perf mods and next steps: (1) lose the SERT, he won't touch it, its useless and they can't get it to work well; (2) to do the Andrews 37 cams install he'd also have to sell me new pushrods (I'm not a greasemonkey, to my chagrin) (3) I can have the cams installed but it'd run "lean", won't hurt the engine, but I'd not realize any benefit; (4) he highly recommends I get a PCIII for $375. Net-net, I'm looking at ~ $1K out the door to upgrade my cams and get a perf gain on my '07 SG. Oh and lastly, he said they're not seeing any marked improvement in going true duals vs. stock Y-pipe.

I'm just putting this out there to see what y'all think about this direction from the shop, ... I like and trust the guy, I just wanna know what you think about what I've been told about next steps on getting the most out of my SG.

Thanks all!

Old 07-14-2010, 03:02 PM
dawg
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 3,240 Likes on 1,851 Posts

Is this a joke?