Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

IDS on 07 Street Glide?

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2010, 03:28 PM
wiles151
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default IDS on 07 Street Glide?

Lookin' for some suggestions about installing IDS in my 07 SG. For a little background, I'm new to HD; previously rode sportbikes, so the big bike ride quality is new ground for me. I've put about 4K miles on the bike and the ride seems good to me. A buddy put IDS on his Ultra and he said it made a big difference. My questions are:

1) Would installing the IDS make a good ride better?

2) Are there any mechanical issues that can result from not installing the IDS or is it just a comfort thing?

3) Pretty handy with a wrench and own a service manual, so do you think I'll have any issues doing it myself? I've read some posts about making sure you put the correct washers in the right locations. Also read about the bolts shearing but some posts suggest incorrect installation as the culprit.

4) Anybody have any suggestions on where to buy? Seem to remember some sellers who would also press the bearing in for you.

I know this topic may be whipped horse, so I appreciate your indulgence. Getting ready for a cross country ride.

Thanks!

Chris

Old 06-24-2010, 03:42 PM
SG 1
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you search IDS you'll get answers to all those questions and more.

I put it on mine, but I had the dreaded compensator clatter at speed in 6th. It stopped that and to be honest thats about all I noticed. I like the thing fine, but if I didn't have a problem, I wouldn't add it.

Old 06-24-2010, 04:22 PM
hog-doc
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 53 Likes on 51 Posts

1: NO!
2: 105 years without it cant be wrong
3: If you must, its not hard to do just follow the instructs