Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Squirrely Handling - '06 Ultra

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2006, 01:11 PM
kdietz
Road Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Squirrely Handling - '06 Ultra

I did a 3000 mile trip to Colorado last week on my relatively new '06 Ultra...fully loaded with my wife. The bike has always handled great...solid, but during the middle of the trip, things changed.

I first noticed that as I was slow manuvering in parking lots, etc., the bike felt like it was steering away from the direction I was pointing. It made coming to a stop very dicey. Once stopped, I would shake the front end and the shake would continue....btw, this is my 2nd FLHT and I've got 11 years experience riding them, so I think I know what is normal.

We were near Denver at the time so I stopped by Rocky Mountain HD. The service manager acknowledged that the front end "shake" didn't feel right. He put it on a stand and checked it out...very quickly as it was closing time. He said everything was OK, including the motor mounts, but agreed that something was not right and I might want to have it checked out again when I get home. BTW, they were very accomodating to a traveling biker...hats off to them.

On the road, the bike handled fine. If I shook the handlebars at speed, the front end felt very loose, but it tracked great in the turns, etc.

I've got cast wheels....properly inflated.

Have you had a similar problem? I've never had a broken mount mount, but that's what it feels like to me....ideas?

Karl

Old 08-23-2006, 01:23 PM
PhilM
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Squirrely Handling - '06 Ultra

Hey Karl... possibly through a wheel weight off?

Just out of curiousity... how is the air pressure in your rear shocks?

Old 08-23-2006, 01:34 PM
kdietz
Road Captain

Hi Phil,