Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Proper Way To Tie Down A 2010 Street Glide

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2010, 06:18 AM
papamike44
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Proper Way To Tie Down A 2010 Street Glide

I just bought a new 2010 SG and an enclosed trailer and would like to see some pictures of the right way to secure the front and back. I think I have the front end figured out, but to me I can't see a good way to strap the rear down. I'm new to all this trailering and will be heading to Yellowstone next week and would appreciate any help you can give to make our first trip save and fun...

thank you

Old 06-18-2010, 07:04 AM
soos
Grand HDF Member
Received 71 Likes on 39 Posts

I have an enclosed trailer and I secure my scoot by the front forks at the point where the front fender attaches to the fork. As for the rear, 2 "D" rings positioned on either side of the rear tire is all that is needed. Just run a strap from one ring thru the tire at the bottom to the other ring and you should be OK. Securing the rear is just to keep it from dancing side to side. 95% of securing the bike is done from the front. Stay off the handle bars. I don't compress the front forks either. I let the scoot ride the suspension. I also use a wheel chock. It makes the whole job easier. Right now my trailer is used for storage or helping people move. I haven't used it to transport my scoot in years except for bringing it to a buds house in another state in Feb for some upgrades.

Attached Thumbnails Proper Way To Tie Down A 2010 Street Glide-left-front-1.jpg   Proper Way To Tie Down A 2010 Street Glide-right-front-2.jpg   Proper Way To Tie Down A 2010 Street Glide-right-front-3.jpg   Proper Way To Tie Down A 2010 Street Glide-right-front-low.jpg  

Last edited by soos; 06-18-2010 at 07:09 AM.
Old 06-18-2010, 07:09 AM