Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bit of a valve rattle????

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2010, 07:12 AM
joe28
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bit of a valve rattle????

The weather is warm, I switched to my open face helmet and now, I'm hearing ALL kinda of new things!
I'm runnin' a '07 Ultra classic I got used last fall. Back on a Harley after 25 years away, came off a Kawi Vulcan 1500.
It has true duals, stock mufflers, (I bought it with Rhineharts, a power commander, high flow air fliter, was just too loud, hurt my ears), so I kept the pipes, put the stock air filter set up on, as well as the mufflers, O2 sensors back in, oil cooler.
While at Daytona I picked up a set of risisters that go into the O2 senso wires. It adds a bit more fuel, (in the 80's when I was a service tech for Chrysler, we did that to the Jap motors with feed back Carbs to stop the ping, so it's is a sound idea).
It seems to work well, as I can run 6th gear at a bit lower speed and RPM and it won't buck or stumble.
I was on a fast 150 mile run the other day up to N.Y. on interstate 81/88 to look at a jeep project, temps in the mid 80's.
I noticed a bit of "ping" on a pull.
I'm gonna say it's lean rather than too much timing, but I may be wrong.
I stopped on the way back and got some Sunoco gas from a different station to see if it was THAT station, or the gas. I'll try different fuels also.
I always use Sinoco high test gas.
I'd like to richen it up a bit more, but not sure which way to go.
Some of the guys at the H.O.G. group I'm in have heard stories about Power Commanders going south, (everyone knows someone who..... that ended badly).
Could I get some idea on which way to go.
I don't want it loud, I'm happy with the mufflers.