Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Torque Wrench

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2010 | 12:42 PM
StanfordMan
|
Tourer
Default Torque Wrench

There is another thread that I started concerning changing the transmission fluid. After checking my Owner's Manuel, I see that you are supposed to tighten the drain plug bolt between 14-21 ft lbs. Well, I don't own a torque wrench; and have simply gotten by with minor repairs and such by tightening according to "feel." However, it occurs to me that you want to be careful not to under tighten the drain plug (so as to avoid leaking) as well as over tighten and possibly snap off the bolt. So, before I run off to Harbor Freight or the Home Depot, can someone recommend the type of torque wrench I should get, understanding that I'm not a professional mechanic, and I am only going to perform minor repairs and maintenance. Therefore, I don't need the best/most expensive torque wrench. Thanks in advance.

Old 05-21-2010 | 12:51 PM
cpotts454
Cruiser

Im not a professional tool man by any means, but I would recommend staying away from harbor freight for precision tools like torque wrenches and gauges. I would pay the little extra money and get a tool with a lifetime gaurentee, i.e. Craftsman, Snap-on, Duralast. Just my two sense.

Im not bashing harbor freight, Ive got a ton of tools from there that are one time use pieces. Anything you use often you should spent a little more jack on.

Old 05-21-2010 | 12:58 PM
Wanna Ride
Outstanding HDF Member

Agreed. I use Harbor Freight for several things, but a torque wrench isn't one of them. You can get an inexpensive, reliable Craftsman from Sears. Some things you don't scrimp on.

Old 05-21-2010 | 01:02 PM
Greg MacD
Novice

Originally Posted by cpotts454