Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Has anyone done 1st service at home?

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2006, 04:02 PM
Landfill_Tim
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Has anyone done 1st service at home?

I've been building cars and engines since I was 10 and have a very complete set of tools. I'm new to HD though. I've done all the maint on my Yamaha except my first service. I've even done the valve adjustment on that bike.

My question how many of you did the entire 1st service and also what did it cost you. I haven't been to the stealer to price parts/fluids? If it is not that much more I would just pay them to do the first one.

Old 07-20-2006, 04:08 PM
dawg
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 3,227 Likes on 1,842 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone done 1st service at home?

Most folks let the stealer do the 1000 mile service and then do all their others themselves. Alot have the 1000 mile service included in the buy price of the bike. I bought mine used so I can't help you out there.

Old 07-20-2006, 04:12 PM
JamieWG
Road Master
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

I did mine myself. If I remember correctly, all I needed was engine oil, primary oil, tranny oil, an oil filter and some o-rings. I think total cost was about $60, but I used Syn3 in the engine and Formula+ in the tranny and primary. You'll want to get a service manual, so budget $50 for that. First service is simple and there is no reason to pay the dealer to do it.

Old 07-20-2006, 04:28 PM
maineultraclassic
Elite HDF Member
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

There is no reason to ever have your bike back to the dealer unless it is a warranty issue or a job too big to do at home.

Preventative maintenance is very easy to do, and with the $50 service manual you will be all set.