Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Un-Dressing my Road King - Part 1 - Fenders

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2009, 12:43 PM
ArizonaFalconer
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Un-Dressing my Road King - Part 1 - Fenders

Hey all,

I am looking to Un-Dress my Road King meaning I want to remove the items from the bike that really make it look like a dresser. In this part, I am looking to clean up the looks of the fenders, and go for more of a custom look.

I have run into some concerns about it. I need to do this on as small of a budget as possible, as I'm not rollin in it yet, I'm still a Graduate student.

I've noticed that the items I want to remove (Chrome caps on both front and rear fenders, as well as rear skirt on the front fender) They have holes in the fender where they are connected.

Logically, I'd say replace both front and rear fenders, while that is likely the best way to do things, its certainly not the cheapest. 1 or 2 years from now if I am not already into a new StreetGlide or RoadGlide Custom, I'll replace the fenders when I re-paint the bike, but for now I want to find a way to cover up these holes with something decent.

SO, from what I can see my options are:

1. Find a small, nice emblem to put over the front and rear holes.
2. Cap them with some sort of black plastic cap
3. Boddy filler, sanding and painting (might as well replace them)
4. Find some cheap black SG or RKCustom Fenders (they're out there, but finding black ones is harder)

Are there any other options? Does anyone know of any nice small emblems that might cover those holes up? What would be a good way to do this on a budget?

I appreciate all your responses in advance.

Old 12-09-2009, 01:00 PM
cbrenthus
Stellar HDF Member
Received 1,643 Likes on 683 Posts