Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Helmet storage?

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2009, 08:08 PM
smokewagon
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Helmet storage?

So I am new to riding, and just bought myself a Road King - one thing I wonder about is where y'all stow your helmet when you're in the store or whatnot? Once upon a time when I rode dual-purpose bikes, they had a little locking bar thingie you could hang the helmet on from its D-rings, but I don't see anything like that on my King. The helmet is too wide to fit in the bags. I got a real cheap helmet, but still don't want to just leave it strapped to the bike w/out locking … but would also rather not carry it in with me.
Am I missing something?

Old 12-06-2009, 08:30 PM
krazy3
Road Warrior
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

When I have to wear one, I leave the wife's hanging on the handlebars and mine hanging from the highway pegs. When we are travelling and I don't have to wear it, it's bungee corded on top of the bag on the tour pak rack. I figure if someone's going to steal my helmet, they are going to steal my clothes too. Knock on wood, so far I haven't had any issues.

Old 12-06-2009, 08:40 PM
BLKBAGGER
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

9 times out of 10 I just leave it on top of the tank. I wear a half helmet and it sits there just fine. Mine fits in a bag if im leaving my bike somewhere. I have seen a little lock device for helmets before but i don't need one so I didn't look to see who makes it.

Old 12-06-2009, 08:42 PM
toastman
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 20 Likes on 15 Posts

hangin from the handlebars or my brake pedal

Old 12-06-2009, 08:44 PM
shortride
Ultimate HDF Member