Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil cooler question

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2006, 07:05 PM
scarecrow
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil cooler question

I have an 06 Ultra Classic with no engine modifications other that Rinehart True Duals, Stage 1 air cleaner only, Vance & Hines Fuel Pak (DFO). I plan to do a 95 kit within the next year but not yet. I was thinking about putting an oil cooler on the bike to try and cool things down a bit but was told by friends it was not a good idea to put one on a basically stock motor as it was not needed in my area (Central California). I can't see what it would hurt but not being a mechanic I thought I'd throw it out for some discussion and maybe gain a little insight. Thx

Old 06-27-2006, 07:59 PM
bountyhunter
Banned
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Oil cooler question

I don't use synthetic and my oil temp runs around 220F, on 90 deg+ days. I buy a 4 quart jug of oil for the cost of ONE quart of syn. Bike has NEVER gone into heat management, oil cooler....waste of money!

Old 06-27-2006, 08:23 PM
Comfortably Numb
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

I have an '05 RK Classic that, with exception of an SE intake and map, was otherwise factory stock until this spring.
I live in a climate far cooler than that of California. In the past year I was always plagued by my bike going into Heat Management mode in extended stop and go/ slow speed traffic.