Notices
Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Pulling a trailer

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2009, 07:45 AM
santajim
Grand HDF Member

Received 328 Likes on 223 Posts
Default Pulling a trailer

Hey bros. am thinking about buying a pull behind trailer to pull behind my Ultra. Next year wife and I are planning a trip from Reno up into Idaho,Montana to Yellowstone,back down into Utah, the Grand Canyon. What are your thoughts about pulling a trailer and what's a good trailer to look at.
Thanks
Santa

Old 09-12-2009, 08:09 AM
LookMaNoHands
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a Trailmaster Aspen Classic that I'm very happy with, I put about 7k miles on it this year. 325lbs empty, probably 450-500 loaded. Takes a bit to get used to and anyone who says you won't know it's back there is full of s*** but it doesn't handle badly at all. I can still drag the boards through the twisties and can still manage a respectable u-turn.

If brakes are an option on yours I'd suggest them, and take a minute to set up the controller loaded. Once up to cruising speed it's not bad but taking off, especially up hill, sucks... I'm kicking around the idea of a Baker DD7 and a mild 103-107" build.

Running two up and pulling a trailer will be tough on the shocks, I'm running 13.5" Progressive 440HD's, I'd at least give them some thought. Be prepared to eat rear tires, towing seems to knock 1/2 the life off of them.

Can't think of anything else off-hand...

Old 09-12-2009, 08:10 AM
nocarb
Road Master
Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts

Originally Posted by santajim