Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Garmin hand held on bike?

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2009, 09:00 AM
Johan96
Elite HDF Member
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Garmin hand held on bike?

Does anyone have experience with a hand held gps on a bike? Looking for pros and cons.
Regards Johan

Old 07-21-2009, 09:03 AM
KoalaCowboy
Road Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Johan96
Does anyone have experience with a hand held gps on a bike? Looking for pros and cons.
Regards Johan
I'm using my Garmin GPS 76CS...

I love it for the fact that I can download the trip data and create altitude graphs, etc. (yeah, I'm a computer nerd for sure).

Old 07-21-2009, 09:04 AM
HDRider2002
Road Master
Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts

I have no experience with it, and i hope you aren't suggesting to pull it out of your pocket to look at it while riding. That sounds awfully dangerous to me. its bad enough we have to take out eyes off the road ahead to look at these things, but taking your hand off the bars and your eyes off the road, i dont' like the sound of that.

Now if it was something you could mount, then i don't see why not other than smaller display, etc. As long as you are familiar with the operation of the unit, i'm sure it could be done

Old 07-21-2009, 09:06 AM
Uncle Fester
Tourer

I had a Garmin handheld on my bike for a while before Santa brought me a Zumo. It's not a bad way to go, cost-wise, and they're designed for hiking so they're waterproof and shock-proof. I used a RAM handlebar mount and it worked fine. Cons: really tough to do your button-pushing safely while riding, small screen and tough to work through the menus in motion.