Notices
Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My skills stink and aren't getting better...

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2009, 05:58 AM
PwnedNoob
Intermediate
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default My skills stink and aren't getting better...

OK, so here's the deal. I'm about 50 now and have been riding for the past three years (I don't count the riding I did as a teenager). I started riding again in 2006. I spent about 2 years on a Sporty, then moved to an Ultra last year. I put about 4,000 miles on the Sporty over two years, mostly because I was riding local roads and lost a lot of time due to work I was doing on the bike. I've put about 4,000 miles on the Ultra in the one year that I've had it. So a total of 8,000 miles in 3 years.

So here's the problem...

I feel my riding skills aren't getting any better. I have no problem with slow speed stuff, parking lots, stop signs, handling the bike in close quarters, etc.. My problems are curves at speed -- highway on/off ramps, blind curves on two lane road, even broad sweepers. I've tried to read up on different techniques (Hough's Proficiency book and the RLAP video), it's not much help -- maybe I'm overthinking things. Just looking for any advice from the group on these problems:

1) Highway on/off ramps
I probably slow down WAY too much, but most off and on ramps are totally blind. I'm leaned way over, but not scraping, but usually find myself lugging the engine. I lately started downshifting more before entering the ramp/lean to prevent lugging, but the engine really lurches going into that low a gear when I still have some speed on. Once I see daylight at the end of the ramp, it's game on, but while circling blind on them, I feel like I really suck.

2) Sweepers