Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Say Goodbye to Butt Burn!!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2009, 11:42 PM
iceman5218
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Say Goodbye to Butt Burn!!!!!!

Just so I don't get ragged for thinking about my butt, I am a former athlete and an Athletic Trainer now. So, trying to take care of myself is something I think about a lot (as you will find out later it doesn't get much farther than a thought). When I started riding over a year ago I couldn't get more than a few miles in the heat and the burn would begin (as is with most or all of us "big boys"). Since I tip the scales at 280 lbs I thought my weight was the reason and would just powder up to keep the the butt dry but would still get the burn just a little later and worse than before.

Being an uninformed rider at the time (didn't know about Mean City) I bought a Mustang. Needless to say I was still pretty upset when I would still get the burn. It was so bad I couldn't enjoy the better saddle. So I started to think about why this was happening. I went back to the school books I realized that stupid physics class could combine with my basic physiology class to explain the problem. The root of the problem is the friction that is created when you sweat. The cotton whatever you are wearing next to your skin absorbs the sweat and can no longer slide with you when you ride. So when the skin gets irritated (and skin in that area isn't very thick) you start to feel the burn. So why doesn't powder work? The powder will just absorb the sweat until it becomes saturated and then create an even greater problem because you have this powder ball that you are sitting on (OUCH!!!).