Notices
Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Street Glide for a new rider?

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2009, 08:49 AM
jstone8158
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Street Glide for a new rider?

Hey Guys new to the forum and in the market for a new bike. I have wanted a Harley my whole life and after a long tour in Iraq I finally have the money to buy whatever I want. I went to the dealership and fell in love with the 09 Street Glide. My biggest concern is if this is a good idea since I have limited riding experience. I rode a honda 450 street bike for two years back in high school but I have never ridden such a big bike. I am 6'2 185lbs and I really like the way I feel sitting on the Glide. It just feels right. If anybody has any advice please post it.

Thanks.

Old 06-24-2009, 08:56 AM
hogowner69
Road Master
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

First off!! THANKS FOR SERVING!!

If you feel "confident" on a bike after you didn't ride for a while I would say go for it....

or you can buy a cheap used bike....get some riding in....sell it after a month or so...then move on up to the Glide.....

I really can't give you an answer.....wish I could.....

thanks again for serving! I wish you the best!

Old 06-24-2009, 08:59 AM
kstewart422
Cruiser

You will love that bike. You are physically large enough, you should have no problem with that bagger. If you feel a bit intimidated, take a class. Sign up for the BRC (Beginner Riding Class). If you have ridden for any length of time you most likely don't need it. The classes do help with insurance costs. Plus they are a reminder of what to be aware of, and help your basic skills. Ride it about for a few weeks, then go take an ERC (Experienced Rider Course). You will have a great time.

Glad your home safe

Last edited by kstewart422; 06-24-2009 at 09:07 AM.