Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Left Turned

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2009, 02:30 PM
nick@nite
Road Warrior
Received 70 Likes on 48 Posts
Default Left Turned

I saw this quote from a cop who used to train bike cops. I thought it was right on the money. A cop was left turned in Cape Coral Fl he was hurt bad , a biker is a biker to me and I hope he pulls through.

What happened to Officer Garcia could happen to anyone -- motorcyclists and drivers alike.

"I'm a former police officer and I train police officers in offensive manipulation," Dean Engledow says.

Engledow has trained nearly 8,000 riders during his 20 years on a bike. He's making the trek from his hometown of St. Louis to vacation in Key West.

"I guess I ride 15,000 to 18,000 miles a year on average, and I mean, I've had lots of close calls," Engledow says.

The majority, he says, are the same: "43% of all motorcycle accidents -- the highest ratio -- come from the left side, or an offending vehicle coming from the left and turning into the motorcyclist.

That's what happened to Cape Coral Traffic Officer Damien Garcia.

Crash scene investigators say a third car caused a blind spot between Officer Garcia and the driver of an SUV. Garcia, driving in the left lane, was following another car in the right lane. As that car slowed to make a right turn, troopers say the SUV pulled out across both lanes of cross traffic -- colliding with Officer Garcia.

"Intersections -- there has to be heightened awareness, slowing down if necessary, being ready to stop," Engledow says. "Regardless of who's fault it is, (the motorcyclist) pays the price."

Godspeed to Officer Garcia.

Old 06-05-2009, 02:46 PM
rocknrod
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts