Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lasik Question

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2009, 10:55 AM
Everette
Club Member
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lasik Question

I've been wearing bifocals for about 25 years now. Had a B'day yesterday and I went to be evaluated for Lasik. They want to do something called monovision. I currently have contacts in that simulate the monovision. Kinda neat, but not perfect. I realize that I would have to have reading glasses. Anyone had this done? What do you think. I hate wearing glasses.

Everette

Old 05-24-2009, 11:11 AM
Baffler1
Road Warrior
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I had lasik done in 1999 & must say that it was one of the best things i ever did for myself - yes i wear magnifiers for reading - but the freedom from not wearing corrective lens is great - hope this helps

Old 05-24-2009, 11:12 AM
KopperTop
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I've worn contacts for probably 30 years and started needing reading glasses about 2 years ago. I've tried multifocal contacts as well as monovision and, even after a period of adjustment, we never really satisfied with the results. Distance wasn't perfect and reading wasn't perfect -- everything was a compromise. I went back to single vision contacts for riding and just use reading glasses over my contacts for computer work or reading menus, etc.. When I'm not riding I wear progressive lenses and those are my favorite - everything is crystal clear.

Glasses may be a nuisance and contacts can be a PITA, but nothing beats seeing well for the task at hand.

Old 05-24-2009, 11:57 AM
Everette
Club Member

Thanks for the replies. I have never wore contacts until yesterday. I have a real problem sticking my finger in my eye and with out glasses I can't see the dang thing. What I don't like about glasses: