Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is not having my baffles in damaging my bike?

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2006, 01:57 PM
monster0826
Road Master
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is not having my baffles in damaging my bike?

I've never had a problem before, but now I'm not so sure. I don't see how, but could my baffles not being in be the cause of my recent oil leak? I know the bike isn't jetting right now that I have the baffles out. So I have no back pressure, my fuel mileage sucks, and I get whooped off the line. I'm fine with all that, but am I causing permanent damage here?
I like to think I know enough about bikes in general, but this I'm not so sure of.

Old 04-26-2006, 02:42 PM
RBJones
Tourer
Received 10 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Is not having my baffles in damaging my bike?

I'm no expert on Harley engines, but experience with other engines has shown me that you have to be careful when messing around with jetting and exhaust systems. My Triumph TR6R, for example, hated megaphones with the baffles out for the kind of driving I was doing at the time. The motor just likes back pressure in order to run properly. It screamed at high RPM but I lost all low-end torque and the motor tended to get very hot after about half an hour -- to the point that it simply shut down a couple of times when the pistons got too hot. When I put a set of stock glass packs on it, it purred like a kitten again. I'd say that anything you're doing that would cause your motor to become extremely hot could lead to oil or head gasket leaks. High temps could cause breakdown in oil composition and head warpage and in extreme cases seized pistons or cracked jugs.

Old 04-26-2006, 02:50 PM
bountyhunter
Banned
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

NO baffles can drop your low/mid power and result in a hot motor, not COOL!