Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stage 1 or not

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2009, 09:49 PM
jhr
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stage 1 or not

I just installed a set of se slip-ons. Is it worth the time to finish the stage 1 upgrade? I have a pc and se air cleaner. I am new to the touring bikes and look forward to spending some quality time with my retired father and maybe my wife will ride with me on this bike. She does not like the other two. I have been able to take advantage of the nice weather and ride the bike over the weekend. The bike rides nice and the slip-ons give me the "tone" that was missing with the stock mufflers.

Old 03-08-2009, 10:07 PM
FatBAGstr'd
Advanced

IMO this is personal preference. If you are happy with the way things are now, then so be it - don't fix something that ain't broke.

If you want a little more performance, then yes, finishing out the Stage I is a good idea. You can shove all the fuel in the world into the cylinders, but if the bike can't breathe (in or out) it won't do any good.

I'm happy with my stage I over stock. However, it opened the door to always wanting MORE.

Old 03-08-2009, 10:15 PM
hollywoodultra
Tourer

Why stop at the Stage 1, throw in some cams. After that do a 95....just kidding. It never really ends, once you do one it seems you want more!

Old 03-08-2009, 10:20 PM
skyking
Tourer

I did only slip-ons to my 09 Ultra. Bike runs great. I'm satisfied as is.

Old 03-08-2009, 10:26 PM
jhr
Intermediate
Default true