Notices
Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

95" Engine Build Project Pics

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2009, 10:08 PM
hollywoodultra
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TC Rebuild 101 step by step Pics.

Here are pictures step by step of rebuilding my Twin Cam 95"

Disclaimer:
I am not a mechanic, this is the first time I have ever tore down a HD motor and rebuilt one. If I had a question I had a qualified mechanic just a phone call away. Along with some conversations and help from Dalton (thanks). I had a HD Service Manual and if I had questions, I asked!

Just so you know what I am posting is not the "written in stone" way to do this. I am just posting this for those that my not have seen the inside of the twin cam or those thinking of doing a project like this on their own. Also I know how everyone loves pictures.

I hope that this post creates some good conversation from those that have done this build a thousand times or have never done it before.

I dont know how many pics I will be able to put per post so bear with me. It may also take a few evenings to write it all up and bring new posts.

Well lets begin:
When doing a build like this you cant be clean enough. All of my parts were washed in hot soapy water and rinsed then dried completly. I did not was my heads in water they were cleaned when I had them ported.

I placed all of the piston rings on before placing them on the connecting rods. I use 1/2" pvc on the cylinder studs to protect the pistons and studs from scratches. Also I had clean rags down in the case to prevent anything from falling in there. I took them out for the picture.