Notices
Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone have a implantable cardioverter defibrillators (ICD)

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2008, 03:44 AM
SoCal_Pappy
Elite HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Question Anyone have a implantable cardioverter defibrillators (ICD)

Knowing that this may not be the right place to post this but though I would get more feed back here.
Having some heart problems in the past. I was recommended to have a ICD.
Which was done on Nov 4th, 2008. I wondering if ANY ONE has this and is still riding?
I've been riding for well over 40 years and it would kill me to give it up, but I would hate for this device to go off while riding at 80MPH on the freeway...

Old 11-12-2008, 04:02 AM
stubby0032
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You make a very valid point. Although I don't have one, I do work with a large population of people who do (nurse on a cardiac unit). I've had people who have had theirs fire. They could feel it, but no real discomofort. I also had someone who said "it felt like someone hit them from behind" it literally took them to the ground. Not something you want at 80 mph!

What did your cardiologist have to say? What was the reason for the implant? Did you have slow or fast rates?

I'm sure you'll find a hundred different opinions. Discuss with your doc and make the best decision for you. Enjoy riding that bike!!

Old 11-12-2008, 04:25 AM
relli
Road Warrior
Received 19 Likes on 3 Posts

i have heart problems. arent we at risk of the "big one" at anytime anyway?no exp with your unit but seems to me no diff than the risk we all take when we ride. MO

Old 11-12-2008, 04:33 AM
Garemlin
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts

A friend of ours has had one for several years and still rides. It has "hit" but never when he was riding.

Old 11-12-2008, 04:27 PM