Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need suggestion for seat upgrade - 2009 Road King Classic

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2008, 12:11 PM
BlackFLHR
Road Master
Received 45 Likes on 18 Posts
Default Need suggestion for seat upgrade - 2009 Road King Classic

Hello all! I'm new to the HD scene, and I may soon be the proud owner of a new 2009 Road King Classic. However, the one thing that I (actually my wife) doesn't like about that particular motorcycle is the passenger pillion (it looks to be one piece with the driver's saddle)... It's just a little too narrow for her. In addition, I'll need to get a backrest for her too.

But on to my question...what is the general conscensus about an upgraded seat for this particular model? If it matters, I'm about 6', 290 lbs, and my wife is about 190lbs. Just looking for something that will be a little more comfortable for her.

Also, any suggestions for the backrest?

Thanks!!!

Old 10-27-2008, 12:16 PM
elmo771
Tourer
Received 29 Likes on 9 Posts

I have the same issue with the seat on my 08 Road King. The seats from HD only go to 2007. I am Thinking on a Mean City Cycle upgrade. On the back rest I went with a Med height and the Seat matching wide backrest.

Old 10-27-2008, 12:19 PM
tano01
Road Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Go pick up the new catalog from your local dealer and you'll find some 2008 and 2009 seats...the selection is pretty slim, though. Check out Mean City. You can get a good upgrade for less than what you would pay for a new seat.

I use a HD detachable backrest for my 08 RK and my wife is quite fond of it.

Old 10-27-2008, 12:21 PM
UltraTheo
Road Master
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Just traded my RKC in on an'09 Ultra classic but on the RK I put on the Harley Sundowner seat. Great improvement over stock and the wife was much happier also.