Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HELP w/ buying the right '09 touring bike

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2008 | 01:44 AM
ghostflamed
|
Road Captain
Default HELP w/ buying the right '09 touring bike

So I sold my 2006 FXDWG here recently and am now ready to buy a new 2009 touring bike. The choices for me in order of interest are:

-Road Glide
-Road King Classic
-Electra Glide Standard
-Street Glide

I have ridden '08 models of the RG, RK and SG but haven't gotten any seat time on the EGS yet. Since I have spent all my previous Harley time on Dynas and Softails I am a relative newbie to the world of the touring machines. Any pearls of wisdom about selecting the best overall bike? I plan to ride it first, work on it second and polish it third. I need a machine that I can put HEAVY miles on and still love it at the end of the day. Am I looking to the best machine in the Road Glide?

Thanks,
Curt in Idaho

Old 09-23-2008 | 01:50 AM
Leonidas
Road Master

You can't go wrong with any of those bikes. Try the EG to be sure, then compare the ride to the rest.... Do you need a radio? what look do you like best? Does one in particular call to you like an angel from heaven? lol (mine did)

Just get whatever feels right to you. my $.02

Old 09-23-2008 | 02:14 AM
ghostflamed
|
Road Captain