Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tri-flow: A Better Cable Lube??

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2006 | 10:54 PM
gliderman
|
Road Captain
Default Tri-flow: A Better Cable Lube??

Getting ready to lube my new S/S cables before installing them. I have used dri-slide cable lube in the past. Good lube, however, it will darken/blacken the stainless steel cable around the fittings where you apply the dri-slide. Has anyone tried Tri-flow lube?? I heard it will not darken the cable like dri-slide. What lube do you use?????

Old 03-23-2006 | 11:51 PM
POSSUM
Intermediate
Default RE: Tri-flow: A Better Cable Lube??

Tri-flow sprays clear. used it for years. My friend has his own bike shop and thats what he uses.

Old 03-24-2006 | 01:34 PM
Thundercloud
Road Master

I know this may seem like a dumb question, but I have never done it before, so I was wondering what the proceedure for lubing your cables is. Just spraying each end where they pivot or what???

I change all my own fluids and do that maitenance, but have only had cables checked and lubed when in the shop for service.

Thanks in advance!!!

Old 03-24-2006 | 01:46 PM
PhilM
Ultimate HDF Member

The sprays & powders are a good - for a bit, but they dry out fairly quickly. This is most obvious on the clutch cable.

I made an aluminum block that bolts together and has a threaded hole to accept the end of a grease gun. Maybe twice a year, I'll take the clutch lever off and bolt my grease block "around" the lever end of the clutch cable and slowly "force" grease down into the clutch cable using a standard grease gun.