Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

93 tour pak removable

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2006 | 11:57 AM
PA Bagger
|
Novice
Default 93 tour pak removable

Hi, Im looking for advice on making my tour pak removable. The problem is that all the local dealers tell me that the docking hardware is for 95 and up. Does anyone know what the differnce is or how to make it work. I've had this bike for a couple of years and she is still in great shape but I need to change her up a little. I have been riding harleys for over 20 years and this is one of the newest bikes I have had. But when I go to the dealers they act like im looking for panhead parts! If there is a will...........
Thanks

Old 02-28-2006 | 12:10 PM
Terry TK
Big Kahuna HDF Member
Default RE: 93 tour pak removable

They changed the saddlebags after you bike making the current setup a no go. I'm not sure if any after market companies can help you or not. You can always make something work if you put your mind to it.

Old 02-28-2006 | 02:18 PM
SaltyBagger
Tourer

I just finished doing this to my 88 EG. It was an all fab project as I got the same answer you are getting. Mikeisglidin posted some pictures on my question post that showed a quick release type of set up on his old bike but I went a different route.

Thanks to 89FLHT for the ideas - This requires frame drilling and bending of the existing rack. If this makes you nervous stop here.

Pull the tour pac from the rack. Pull the chrome fender strut covers. Drill out the rivits (top and bottom) holding the rear of the rack to the frame. drill all the way through the rack and frame rivit holes with a 3/8s bit (for a 5/16 bolt). Rear modifications are done.