Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Clutch problem after 1K service

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2008, 01:31 PM
allenp99
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch problem after 1K service

Newbie here. 2008 Roadking went in for the 1K service and when I drove off the clutch would not engage until I let the clutch all the way out. It would only work at the very last bit of clutch lever. The first 1000 miles it was gradual engagemet across the full lever range. I went right back but the service dept was closed. When I called my service today guy he was real sceptical of my description
of the problem. I am going in tomorrow morning.

Do I have a problem? I have no range on the clutch, just on and off at the end of the clutch lever.

The bike has been awesome so far. After stage one it is like a new bike (except for the clutch).

Great forum here, I learned all about Harleys before I bought and got a better deal because of the information here.

Old 04-25-2008, 01:33 PM
IBHarley
Road Master
Default RE: Clutch problem after 1K service

I think they adjusted the basket to tight 1/8 turn back and you should have that gradual clutch again

Old 04-25-2008, 01:36 PM
Bryan TTM
Banned
Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

just out of adjustment....take the derby cover off....get an 11/16 box end and loosen the jam nut...now get a 1/4 or 3/16 allen and turn the adjuster bolt counterclockwise just a bit....feel the lever...you should feel a difference....re-jam the jam nut and replace the derby cover...go ride it, adjust til satisfied....dont go back to the dealer

Old 04-25-2008, 02:25 PM
twincam47
Road Captain
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts

the best thing to do is start from scratch with a cold clutch.....follow the instructions in the service manual....