Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil Coolers Worth It?

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2008, 04:07 PM
thehueg
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil Coolers Worth It?

I'm new to Harley's having just bought an ' 08 Ultra Classic. I knew going into the buy that these bikes can run hot. But having rented them in Texas and Las Vegas at 100 degrees plus, my wife and I still really enjoyed the rides. Anyway, is an oil cooler a good investment? How much will the temperature drop with one of them installed versus leaving the bike stock? Last, what's a reasonable expense for parts and labor for the dealer to install?

Thanks,

Old 04-02-2008, 04:10 PM
rocknrod
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Oil Coolers Worth It?

Yes.

Next.

Old 04-02-2008, 04:35 PM
sifularson
Elite HDF Member
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts

I believe oil coolers should be included on ALL touring bikes. I installed mine in an hour or so. Bought it from Chicago HD for less than $300. A shop would probably charge 1.5 to 2 hours in labor for the job.

BTW, one reason that our bikes run so hot is that oil is sprayed on the underside of the pistons to help cool them. Thus the heat is transfered to the oil.

A cooler should drop you oil temps by 10 to 15 degrees easily. Keep in mind, you have to be moving for the cooler to work. Slow speed riding or stop and go traffic is the worst thing and will drive your oil temps up no matter what you do.

i also believe we should all be running a good synthetic oil such as Amsoil or Mobil 1.

These are just my thoughts on a highly controversial subject. Many will agree and of course many won't. Get ready to hear from the latter . . .

Old 04-02-2008, 04:37 PM
sifularson
Elite HDF Member
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts

Double post . . . sorry

Old 04-02-2008, 04:52 PM
Windup08