Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

high idle

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2008, 06:17 AM
wannett
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default high idle

riding my new roadking the other day only got 1000 miles on the clock it was a stinking hot day every time i had to stop at lights ect. the revs picked up, rang my dealer and asked why, he's explanation was to keep the motor oil cool ??? and it will improve the more miles i do,is this right?

Old 03-31-2008, 06:23 AM
kjmorgan
Road Captain
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: high idle

I'm not a mechanic but I seriously doubt if there's any interface between the oil temperature and the fuel injection/idle control computer thingamajig. Dealer is just hoping to keep you off his back for awhile.

Old 03-31-2008, 08:46 AM
Stryke1
Cruiser

The same thing happened to me last month when I rented an Ultra Classic in Florida. After riding 2 lane roads most of the day I got into some stop and gotraffic. Each time I stopped, the engine would idle around 1500 RPM's. I told the dealer about this when I got back and he said basically the same thing. It was some feature built in to protect the engine when it gets hot. He said that he got a lot of complaints about that when he rented bikes during bike week. I thought it was unusual since I didn't think it was all that hot out. 80º tops. Last year I rented an '07 Ultra and it was a lot hotter and I didn't experience this high idle. I also had not heard about this before so I was skeptical of what the dealer was telling me. Is this maybe one of the features of the download that would eventually shut down one of the cylinders if it got toohot?

Old 03-31-2008, 10:14 AM
King FLH
Road Captain
Received 38 Likes on 13 Posts

I'm assuming this is an '08? There's a whole thread on this TBW issue. Seems like a problem.