Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

GPS on 2008 Street Glide

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2008, 05:32 PM
rochkes
Elite HDF Member
Received 461 Likes on 212 Posts
Default GPS on 2008 Street Glide

I am new to GPS technology. My kid's bought me a street pilot for Christmas. I haven't been on any long trips with it yet, but I am very impressed with it's accuracy and reliablility on local trips. (just playing with it).

I would really like to have this capability on my bike, especially for my marble runs.

I am trying to understand what it means that my street glide stereo has a gps option........ nobody at me dealer has a clue. The dealer says nobody has ever asked for it because you have to pay a monthly fee like for xm radio............ hd's website says the first thing I have to do is buy a solid mounted tourpak to get this option..........

It is starting to look like I would be better off just buying a waterproof gps and putting it on my bike instead of trying to deal with the gps capabilities on my bike......

Any opinions? Do any of you use the gps on your street glide? if so, do you really have to have the tourpak? do you really have to pay a monthly fee?

I do realize I am more easily confused than most about modern technology............. but I would appreciate any help on this.

Dennis

Old 02-07-2008, 05:46 PM
shortleg
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GPS on 2008 Street Glide

You are right.Look at the Garmin I think the 550s
They are water proof and come with a mount
to use on your bike.There is no monthly fee.
Shortleg[Dave]

Old 02-07-2008, 05:55 PM
rochkes
Elite HDF Member

thanks shortleg...........I am in new territory here when I am confused and someone agrees with me.............. I usually get remind of how stupid I can be when trying to figure out new things...........