Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

"DIY MODS" and TRICKS to SAVE $$$$$$

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2013, 11:45 PM
mkguitar
Extreme HDF Member
Received 398 Likes on 340 Posts

Originally Posted by nhhdrider
Scotch locks can promote corrosion. Ensure you use dielectric grease or silicone to seal the cut in the wire. A preceded method would be to cut, solder and heat shrink.
thanks but

dielectric grease can hold moisture at a joint- so sometimes it is not an advantage, the scotchlok is a similar material to the conductor.
I do use cramolin

2.) soldered joints do not do well in environments where there are vibrations.
the wire strands will tend to break ( from flexing) right where the tinning ends.
I solder for a living, and found out the hard way why most of the wiring on all my bikes and cars is crimped
Mike

Old 01-05-2014, 05:45 AM
nhhdrider
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I agree about the soldering creates a flex point. That's when the use of heat shrink with sealant comes in handy... just like the automotive splices. That use a crimp to hold wires then soldered. Solder is the best form of electrical connections.

I also like to solder terminals that are a critical connections like sensor grounds and CAN BUS communication or where voltage drop is sensitive.

Old 01-05-2014, 07:11 PM
04ctd
Banned

Received 205 Likes on 149 Posts

Originally Posted by nhhdrider
Scotch locks can promote corrosion. Ensure you use dielectric grease or silicone to seal the cut in the wire. A preceded method would be to cut, solder and heat shrink.
my scotch lock died...it had such a small surface area, that it finally overheated & corroded it self & the wire. i guess it was carrying the full current of the spot lights.

so I had to cut & splice it all to get the spots to stay on.

stay away from scotch locks....