Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need some electrical help....(Digtal Dakota Gauge on Road King Classic)

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2007, 07:40 PM
jskwarek
Road Master
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some electrical help....(Digtal Dakota Gauge on Road King Classic)

I put a Dakota Digital MCV-7000 gauge on my Road King Classic today LINK HERE, in preparation for swapping out my tank to a streched Road Glide tank. I will post pics later of the install.

Non the less what I am posting for is I have two questions.

#1 - In the instructions they were saying that the tach wire was a Pink wire, but when I studied the wiring diagram and opened the main harness I found a blue with orange strip wire that is also marked as tach. I just want to know if this is ok to you. I never did track down the pink as this is easier to get to and I am tapping a bunch of other stuff in the same area.

#2 - There is supposedly a Black with Yellow stripe wire, but I can't find it in any harness nor in the diagram. This wire is for the "ENGINE" light. Does any one know where this wire is at.

I am also going to post this in the electric forum, but I figure I would get more traffic here.

Thanks,
Jeff

Old 09-15-2007, 09:04 PM
PhilM
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Need some electrical help....(Digtal Dakota Gauge on Road King Classic)

I have added tachs to RK's and there is (or at least in me case(s)) a loose pink lead under the tank dash. I am assuming you have pulled the dash and looked underneath it... right?

As I recall, the pink lead already has a connector on it.... perhaps a butt connector?

Sorry, I dunno about the yellow / black.

Old 09-16-2007, 09:16 AM
jskwarek
Road Master
Default RE: Need some electrical help....(Digtal Dakota Gauge on Road King Classic)

ORIGINAL: PhilM