Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

08 Road King Classic Performance upgrade thoughts

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2007, 04:50 PM
mfmegyesi
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 08 Road King Classic Performance upgrade thoughts

I recently ordered a 2008 Road King Classicand addedsome performance upgrades. I am new to the Harley world and just need some reassurance. I added the PowerCommander, Stage I Air Cleaner Kit, and CycleShack 2.0" Drag Pipes. Nothing major - just some added oomph and sound. Did I make a good decision or not? I really appreciate anything you guys/gals can tell me.

Old 08-17-2007, 05:00 PM
SoCal_Pappy
Elite HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: 08 Road King Classic Performance upgrade thoughts

CONGRATS!!!
I didn't think that DynoJet (Power Commander) had the system or any downloads ready yet for the '08s??? And SERT may be out by the end of Sept????
I would recommend a Ness Big Sucker over the SE Air Kit (More Bang for the buck (cleanable Air Filter)
And DRAG PIPES are loud but you'll loose low end preformance in most cases...

Old 08-17-2007, 07:25 PM
rde
Road Captain

Congratulations on a wise choice!
I'm surprised your dealer suggested a PC III. I would change that recommendation toa SERT. Even then the SERT will not be available until Sept/Oct. I would run stock until thenew SERT is available.
I ordered an 08 Road King Classic and will install a SERT. My bike will not be here for another 6-8 weeks so hopefully the SERT will be out by then.
The PC III is not certified to handle the 08's at this time.