Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2005 Road King clutch adjustment gone wrong

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2022, 06:41 PM
mhobryan
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2005 Road King clutch adjustment gone wrong

My wife has a 2005 RK Police edition. She said the clutch was engaging too far out, and asked me to adjust it. I've done this about half dozen times, so it's not like it's my first time... Anyways, I adjusted I turned the adjuster bolt out 1/2 turn, locked it in place. She took it out for a spin and said it seemed slightly worse. I did a 2nd time, she said there was little to no difference. The third time as I was adjusting it, it felt like something came detached on the transmission en.d of the cable, and now it's as if the cable is too long; I took off the transmission cover, and the cable was still attached inside. I've watched a bunch of videos, and did some searching on the forum, but haven't found a similar situation.

Any suggestions as to what i should look for?

Old 08-14-2022, 06:44 PM
Rounders
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 2,335 Likes on 1,848 Posts

Do not operate clutch with clutch pulled apart, your ***** can get stuck. But sounds like that is not your problem.

I would have tried to adjust 3 more times, to be honest. Sometimes it just seems funny. Some of it is by feel when turning in I've hjad times were I could not get it tioghen up the slack. No good answer, other than me. But kept doing it until it did. I've done it over 30 times. No good answer, I meant total. Not on a bad day,

2005 might not be worse time to replace clutch plates. Its not really hard.I am not sure if yuou can do it through derby opening Maybe.

Last edited by Rounders; 08-14-2022 at 06:46 PM.
Old 08-14-2022, 08:03 PM
mhobryan
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Rounders