Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

01 Roadking front air suspension

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2021, 01:06 PM
cany
Intermediate
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
Default 01 Roadking front air suspension

Hey guys first off My bad if this has been asked before Im new to riding a road king It was Dads bike now I have it one of the front fork seals is leaking oil and Im guessing air too because I loose air pressure after a while. Few guys at work have put the progressive shocks in the front but they dont have the front air suspension. I gotta take the front apart to fix the leaking seal my question is would I better off going to progressive shocks or keeping the stock air ride

Thanks in advance

Old 11-15-2021, 07:10 AM
eighteight
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,787 Likes on 2,764 Posts

If you have not done so:

Check for leaks at the air hose fittings at top of forks BEFORE taking front end apart

Old 11-15-2021, 07:13 AM
cany
Intermediate

I havent checked for air leaks I assumed if the seal is leaking oil air will leak out also

Old 11-15-2021, 07:15 AM
eighteight
Seasoned HDF Member

I`m advising that air AND oil can leak at fittings
Doesn`t mean you don`t have bad fork seal , just a lot less work
Happened to me once `99 RK
Banjo bolt at top leaking, ran down and made me assume seals

The following users liked this post:
cany (11-15-2021)
Old 11-15-2021, 07:25 AM
cany
Intermediate

Originally Posted by eighteight
I`m advising that air AND oil can leak at fittings
Doesn`t mean you don`t have bad fork seal , just a lot less work
Happened to me once `99 RK
Banjo bolt at top leaking, ran down and made me assume seals
Thanks I will check everything before I take it apart

Old 11-15-2021, 08:44 AM
Rob Courtier
Advanced

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by cany