Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Enlighten me

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2019, 05:24 PM
TheMurf
Grand HDF Member
Received 3,969 Likes on 1,768 Posts
Default Enlighten me

Question, maybe someone can point me in the right direction ? What's the difference between replacing the headlight and the spot lights and turn signals with LED lights apposed to just replacing the bulbs with LED bulbs ? I see kits from Custom Dynamics ,Paradise lights and others on the market what's the difference between the bulb repayment kits and buying all new led lights ?

Old 05-13-2019, 06:18 PM
EdwardK
Road Warrior
Received 306 Likes on 226 Posts

I'm no expert but I believe the difference has to do with the reflectors inside the fixture. The LED and halogen are two total different style bulbs and project light differently. A reflector made for a halogen may or may not give you the light pattern or distance you are looking for with an LED bulb in it. Will it work? yes. Will it work well? Maybe, maybe not. It might be brighter up close but if it doesn't throw the beam down the road, what good is it?

Also putting an LED bulb in a halogen assembly can make "DOT approved" questionable.

The following users liked this post:
Godinaz (05-15-2019)
Old 05-13-2019, 06:42 PM
jeeper101
Tourer
Received 92 Likes on 63 Posts

^^^ what he said!
Retrofitting reflectors with LED bulbs will result in a lot of the light being dispersed in the wrong direction, blinding oncoming traffic and waisting the light that should be on the road... but is not.

The following 2 users liked this post by jeeper101:
Ben221 (05-15-2019), Godinaz (05-15-2019)
Old 05-13-2019, 06:58 PM
Taggs
Road Warrior
Received 441 Likes on 257 Posts