Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wrong exhaust gasket??

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2019, 02:19 PM
CookUltraClassic
Cruiser
Received 32 Likes on 21 Posts
Default Wrong exhaust gasket??

This is my first time installing exhaust. First time replacing gaskets. I had heard that these Rinehart true duals should be used with the S.E. gasket. I told the girl at the parts counter that I needed eye S.E. exhaust gaskets.

2005 Ultra Classic.

I get home and this is what I’ve got.

Seems like they are much thicker than what I thought the S.E. gasket was. In pictures and ideas it seems like a thin, flat band.

Does the thickness of this gasket compensate for the smaller diameter? Will it smash and expand, or is it the wrong damn part?

Thsnks for any help.

Part number 65900011

Seems like I remember other SE. exhaust gaskets I’ve seen are much thinner than this..

Too small, or will it get smashed and expand?

Harley part number. Anyone know of a fitment list for this part?

Old 05-05-2019, 02:31 PM
dawg
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 3,222 Likes on 1,839 Posts

17048-98 is the pn for SE exhaust gaskets.

Old 05-05-2019, 02:56 PM
Screamin beagle
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,076 Likes on 2,037 Posts

I have the same exhaust and I used the tapered gaskets from harley...not sure if they were the screamin eagle type or stock but I have no exhaust leaks. They are however a royal pain in the *** to get them lol.

Old 05-05-2019, 05:03 PM
skinman13
Outstanding HDF Member

Received 234 Likes on 169 Posts

According to HD, the thin ones are for performance pipes and are not fitted in like the thick ones and they are supposed to improve flow.