Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cooling 07 Ultra

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2007, 10:48 PM
Zack
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cooling 07 Ultra

Have SERT, dyno tune and Syn3...what is the most effective next move? True duals? Oil cooler? Puts off alot of heat behind the rear cylinder. Runs about 240 degree oil temp on an 85 degree day.

Old 07-06-2007, 10:53 PM
voodoodrug
Stellar HDF Member
Received 94 Likes on 81 Posts
Default RE: Cooling 07 Ultra

oil cooler,full synth. oil,remove lowers during summer, hd heat mng download. so far im one step ahead of the heat

Old 07-06-2007, 11:43 PM
woodys3b
Novice

Please excuse my ingorance. Even though I have been riding for 35 years, I'm new to this whole Harley thing. I have an 08 Electra Glide Standard on order and I'm trying to get smart on this heat/pinging issue so I know what to do if mine is afflicted with it.

What is SERT? I'm familiar with a PC III. Is this the same thing?

What is HD Heat Mng download?

What is considered an acceptable oil temp?

Is it possible to cure this condition without going to aftermarket pipes and air cleaner? It's pretty fair to say that if you make more horsepower, you will make more heat. An argument could be made that freer flowing pipes and air cleaner would actually produce more heat.

Thanks
Andy

Old 07-07-2007, 12:14 AM
hd2007
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Remember you have a air - cooled engine , if its not cool enough with the mods you already have , you will never be happy.

Old 07-07-2007, 03:28 AM
PapaTravis
Elite HDF Member
Received 9 Likes on 4 Posts