Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Shock review, Howard's Ohlin #3-#3

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2018 | 03:45 PM
hattitude
|
Seasoned HDF Member
Default Shock review, Howard's Ohlin #3-#3

Short answer:

Wow... I think my shock search is over. My initial impressions are that these provide the ride I have been looking for ......

Background:

I've been riding exclusively Harley bikes since 1977. I went from upstate NY to SoCal on a '78 FXS. I drove that FXS all over the West coast, and then had a couple Heritage softails. I never gave upgrading the suspension a thought. Of course I was younger, tougher, and ignorant about suspension.

I bought my first bagger in 2012 ('12 Limited). I rode that cross country, and was amazed at the comfort compared to my other bikes.

As I get older, and added a wife who frequently rides on the back of my bike, I started to realize there is room for improvement and started reading/research.

I changed the oil in my '12 air shocks... better than OEM, but not a huge improvement.

I looked into "premium" shocks, and bought a set of SuperShox (emulsion style) during their initial roll-out, with discount. They were much better than the air shocks (with both weights of oil). They were very easy to set, and adjust pre-load. I liked them, but there was no Wow factor...

I ended up selling the '12 and getting a used '16 Classic. It was now time to revisit the shock absorber dilemma.

The Decision:

I followed shock threads on a couple different forums. I was aware of Howard's Ohlin shocks, and several other "premium" shock makers/vendors.

I wanted something with at least a 3" stroke, I wanted to try a gas separated shock this time, I wanted to be able to adjust both pre-load and damping, and I didn't want them to sit me higher than the OEM air shocks. (I'm 5'8" with a 31" inseam)