Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question on Exhaust System

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2007, 02:16 PM
Undefined
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question on Exhaust System

Hi all,

I am a newbie in HD, got my first HD ('07 Road King Classic) last Dec. However, most of the parts are just stock, except for changing the handle bar to a Road King Custom handle bar by the dealer (of course, need to change the wires as well).

It's great that I found this forum and can learn a lot from different posts. Actually, I, myself, don't have any hands-on bike modification experience. Most likely, I asked the shop to install the things for me. However, it's difficult to find a shop locally that has a lot of experience in modifying a Harley, so I may need to seek for help from the garages that doing works for other types of the bike instead. So, got a couple of questions and wish you guys could help.
I am thinking of changing the exhaust.

Head Pipe:
Would really like to change to a true dual head pipe as the original exhaust pipe branches out to the right of the bike from the rear cylinder is really hot and make my passenger uncomfortable; however, some questions:
- Are there any good head pipes recommended?
- Are there any differences from changing the head pipe for a Harley then other bikes?
- I am not sure, should there be a O2 sensor on the original head pipe? If so, would it be usable in the new head pipe?

Mufflers and EFI tuning:
Would like to enhance the sound and performance of the bike, so am considering changing the mufflers and EFI tuning:
- Love to have a sound like a Harley and could be a little bit loud (at least could be noticeable), what muffler will give a better sound?
- noted that most of you guys use PCIII and some of you use tmax, how's the difference?