Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Too Soon? Considering Stage 1

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2018, 06:34 PM
wolverinehusky
Grand HDF Member
Received 6,620 Likes on 2,384 Posts
Default Too Soon? Considering Stage 1

Hey everyone. So loving the 18 Road Glide Ultra. No real complaints of consequence.

With that said, I find the exhaust note to be lacking. So thinking about getting Stage 1 and having the dealer do it when I'm gone on vacation in a few weeks (want to preserve my warranty).

I'm a fairly newbie rider. Just passed my 1000 mile recently, and feel pretty confident on the bike and having a complete blast. I'm to the point where I'm taking it on short rides for errands and such, and have a done a few multi-hour rides. Parking lots and slow speed stuff is fine, but I'm no expert and still a little wobbly at times at slow speed (though I don't drop the bike…anymore lol).

So the question - will Stage 1 add too much torque for a relatively new rider? HD advertises the gains as up to 10%, but I don't really have a point of reference. I don't want to get on it and at stop lights I'm getting whiplash like I'm in a Apollo space vehicle and launch. If the difference is fairly minor, I'll probably put the wheels in motion to get it done.

Just wanted some second opinions as the dealer will almost definitely suggest it regardless. The power on the bike is fine for me now (haven't done any 2 up riding yet), but the Stage 1 is appealing for the sound and minor cosmetic upgrade.

Thanks in advance.

Old 07-30-2018, 06:38 PM
dave grider
Cruiser
Received 62 Likes on 40 Posts

Go for it will make you smile

Old 07-30-2018, 06:38 PM
mmesa005
Ultimate HDF Member

Received 737 Likes on 704 Posts