Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Electra glide for short rider

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2018, 07:51 PM
Chiphorst
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electra glide for short rider

I’ve been riding Harley’s for several years now. I’ve just stepped up to a 2006 Electra Glide. I’m 5’4” and I’m estimating that I’ll have to lower the bike about 3” so that I can be flat footed, with a slight bend at the knee for better stability. The seat that’s on the bike is very comfortable, and I’m hesitant to get a different seat that would lower my stance. My question is two part: 1) what are the best rear shocks to achieve this? 2) Do I need to drop the front end as well? If so, what the best way? Also, I plan on having my (5’11”) wife ride with me, so I’m looking for a good balance of lowering the bike that will be stout enough to support the added weight, while maintaining the comfortable, smooth ride, that I currently experience with the factory shocks.

Last edited by Chiphorst; 06-13-2018 at 08:13 PM. Reason: Added content
Old 06-13-2018, 09:53 PM
skratch
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,357 Likes on 2,536 Posts

my answer is gonna be 3 parts:

1. ohlins 2-2b shocks are 12'' shocks but with the sag set, actually sit a little lower, but yet still have a decent amount of stroke for comfort.
2. being an 06, the most common way to lower the front would be the progressive mono shocks. lot of folks like them, i have never used them.