Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to Harleys...how to service air filter on 2011 FLHTK 103

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2018, 10:47 AM
rfulford
Advanced
Received 31 Likes on 15 Posts
Default New to Harleys...how to service air filter on 2011 FLHTK 103

I'm relatively new to Harleys. Used to ride Road Kings at work, but never had to do any of the service. Now that I have bought a 2011 Harley Electra Glide Ultra Limited, I am thinking about doing some of what looks like the more simpler service things. I need to know about air filter service and what I'm gonna find when I unscrew the screw in the center of the 103 Air Filter cover. It seems like the cover would come loose from the rubber gasket that holds it and then there would be the air filter. Is it just being held in by the cover, or is it screwed into the base behind it? Does the 2011 model 103 have hoses or anything in there that I would have to be careful of putting back on? What type of lock tite do you use on the screw when you put it all back together? Would the stock HD filter be the better replacement, or the K&N made for this model?

I guess I could take it to the dealer and have them deal with it, but I would think its simple enough. I just didn't want to take it apart and get into something that I wished I hadn't dealt with.
Thanks for your help.

Old 05-01-2018, 10:54 AM
QNman
Supporter
Received 3,716 Likes on 1,991 Posts

You really ought to invest in one of these - it's worth every cent and then some.

The air filter is pretty straight forward. If you can replace a car's air filter, you can replace the Harley's too.

Personally, if it were otherwise stock, I'd keep the air filter stock also.

Old 05-01-2018, 10:57 AM
Magnut1
Grand HDF Member
Received 1,723 Likes on 842 Posts