Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking to buy new Touring Bike

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2017 | 07:14 AM
dremy1011
|
5th Gear
Default Looking to buy new Touring Bike

First time post here. I've been riding for about 4 years, and recently made a bad purchase for my needs. I picked up a Harley VRod about two months ago, my wife and I took a longer trip up to Cape Cod this weekend (I wouldn't have thought 180 miles could feel so long), and came home with broken backs and rear ends from the trip . So I'm now on the hunt for a bike with some longer distance comfort. I came across a 2007 Street Glide for sale at the local dealer, it has 40,000 miles on it. I know these things were made to ride but I'm a little nervous about the age and mileage. I'm pretty handy with a wrench and do my own maintenance. Prior to the VRod I owned a Sportster 883c. What's everyone's opinions? Thank you!

Old 07-31-2017 | 07:16 AM
lionsm13
Seasoned HDF Member

09 or later would be my advice due to all of the changes.

Old 07-31-2017 | 07:26 AM
rigidthumper
Stellar HDF Member
Veteran: ArmyVeteran: Navy

2007 was the last year of cable drive throttle bodies, first 6 speed touring platform, had super tall gearing- I've had to replace a few dozen main drive gear bearings on 07s, and a bunch of compensators.

Old 07-31-2017 | 07:49 AM
dremy1011
|
5th Gear

I'm also seeing Electra Glide Classics in the same price range but newer with less mileage. Price wise it seem pretty reasonable to add the quick detach for the truck. I looked like a difference is it has more chrome and a higher seat? 2011 with 10,000 miles for same price.

Old 07-31-2017 | 08:24 AM
MatteGlide15
Outstanding HDF Member

Newest model with the least amount of miles..... Scour CL and cycle trader. Plenty of deals to be had

Old 07-31-2017 | 09:00 AM
hattitude