Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Broken brackets upper fairing

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2017, 11:02 AM
anothernewb
Tourer
Received 180 Likes on 100 Posts
Default Broken brackets upper fairing - how to fix?

Noticed a rattle from the fairing this spring, Thinking it was a loose bolt - but yesterday the radio display died, so I took that as providence I was supposed to open up the fairing. and things just went downhill from there. I ended up completely rendering it (the radio) useless in the process of attempting to identify the issue, but I also noticed 2 broken brackets when I was working on it.

i've attached an image of where they're broken. both ends are snapped off where they bolt to the fairing. I'm no engineer - but I'm thinking this is the source of the rattle - and probably helped the radio faceplate loosen up the way it did.

So thoughts on how to repair these? One looks like a bolt on part. the other, looks like it's integrated into the whole fairing hardware.

Attached Thumbnails Broken brackets upper fairing-bluehd080.jpg  
Old 05-18-2017, 11:10 AM
xcbullet
Stellar HDF Member
Received 277 Likes on 235 Posts

Harley has a upgrade for the vertical ones , very common problem. The small one broke from letting it go so long, those weren't broke on mine.

Old 05-18-2017, 11:15 AM
jefla
Road Master
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

Welcome. Lots of us have had this issue and there're numerous posts. My left upper bracket broke. I fixed it by adding a modified L bracket from the local hardware, using the existing connection into the inner fairing and drilling a few holes in the broken bracket that were used to attach the L bracket. I drilled the broken HD bracket in place. If you do the same, be super careful with the drill waste as you don't want metal shavings loose inside the fairing.