Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My helmet feel tight on jaws

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2017, 02:45 AM
preetindersinghg@gmail.com
Stage I
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My helmet feel tight on jaws

I have a LS2 FF325 (XL size)helmet which I bought some 15 days back, this is my first time with any helmet, I have wore it twice first for a 100KM ride and then for a short 30-35KM ride.
the issue I face is that past first 15min of the ride I start feeling pain in my jaws, and it becomes irritating, and the pleasure of riding vanishes. my friends and the sales person told me that it will loosen up and take the shape of my head.
first question: will it ever loosen up?
Second Question: if it will, how long does it take to break in?

Old 05-05-2017, 03:42 AM
tgmotoman
Tourer
Received 40 Likes on 39 Posts

yes it will break in a little, but if it is hurting after only 15 minutes then I suspect it will not ever get to a point you like it.

I would look the internet an see if you can get smaller replacement cheek pads for it. 5mm on each side might make the world of difference in comfort.

Good luck.

Old 05-05-2017, 06:58 AM
SWThomas
Grand HDF Member
Received 1,109 Likes on 663 Posts

Most quality helmets offer interchangeable padding so you can customize the fit. But the cheek pads are supposed to be somewhat tight. When you open and close your mouth you should feel like you're gonna bite your cheeks. That's when you know it's fitting properly. It's a shame how many people out there are wearing helmets that are too loose because they're more comfortable and the user doesn't want to deal with the snug fit until the helmet is broken in.